The Laurel Awards recognize outstanding Student Affairs staff members and student employees who exemplify outstanding job performance and exceptional work with students. The annual awards are issued in the spring semester at the end of the year gathering on Thursday, April 6, 2017. 

The only way to recognize these individuals is by receiving nominations from staff members and/or students who have worked with them. We encourage you to recognize your colleagues by taking the time to fill out an online nomination form and tell us why they are deserving of the award. 

How Are Recipients Selected?

A committee representing the Division of Student Affairs is responsible for reviewing the nominations in each category and choosing the Laurel Award recipients. Each committee member individually reads through all the nominations and selects who they think is deserving of the award in each category. The committee then meets as a group to discuss the nominees in each category and makes a final decision on the year's recipients. 

2016 - 2017 Committee Members

Michael Baumhardt, Co-Chair, Student Activities
Bryan Ensel, Co-Chair Housing & Residential Life
Kisha Bazelais, Counseling Center
Rachel Ensing, Orientation & Commuter Student Involvement
Leslie Leonard, Student Life
Michael Piacentino, Herbert Wellness Center
Maria Sevilla, Dean of Students Office
Benjamin Stocking, Counseling Center
Lindsey Woods, Butler Center for Service & Leadership
TBD, Undergraduate Student