Prospective international scholars are defined as foreign nationals who are interested in coming to the University of Miami as participants in the J-1 Exchange Visitor Program to engage in nonclinical research, teaching or long-term observation at a University of Miami department under the supervision of a University of Miami professor.

The University of Miami (UM) is the sponsor of the Exchange Visitor Program P-1-00212, which is administered by the Department of International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS). Through the University's J-1 Exchange Visitor Program, academic departments can bring qualified participants to UM departments to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, consultation and long-term observation under the supervision of a UM faculty member. The University is authorized to sponsor exchange visitors in five categories: professor, research scholar, short-term scholar, specialist and student. Students will not be discussed here. The other four categories are those that the University refers to as "international scholars."

If you are a foreign national and interested in participating in the University of Miami's Exchange Visitor Program, please contact the department you wish to join to inquire if the department has any interest in hosting you as an international scholar and how you may apply to become an international scholar. It is up to each individual department to decide whether to invite any person to participate in the Exchange Visitor Program and to inform prospective exchange visitors on the appropriate steps to take in order to become an international scholar.

The following is a list of University of Miami departments and contact information for these departments.
This list includes departments that have hosted international scholars in the past. If you are interested in a department but do not see it on this list, please e-mail International Student and Scholar Services and indicate which department you wish to contact regarding participation in the Exchange Visitor Program. We will forward your inquiry to the appropriate department for a direct response to you.

University of Miami Department Dept. Contact E-Mail Address
Accounting Willie Risby Hannah wrisby@miami.edu
Anesthesiology Grisel Lopez glopez@med.miami.edu
Architecture Julie Fulgueira j.fulgueira@miami.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Biology Frances Smith flsmith@miami.edu
Biomedical Engineering Angie Del-Llano a.delllano@miami.edu
Business Administration Vanessa Gonzalez v.gonzalez4@miami.edu
Cell Biology and Anatomy Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Chemistry Lydia Gonzalez lgonzalez1@miami.edu
Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering Maria Aldana maldana@miami.edu
Computer Science Julieta Garcia j.garcia9@miami.edu
Dermatology & Cutaneous Surgery Jenny Cedeno JXC561@med.miami.edu
Diabetes Research Institute Marcela Ward mrojas2@med.miami.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering Vanessa Faz v.faz@miami.edu
Family Medicine & Community Health Lynnette Goldich l.goldich@med.miami.edu
Finance Michelle Mederos mmederos@miami.edu
Foreign Languages & Literatures Elizabeth Dezarov edezarov@miami.edu
Gordon Center for Research in Medical Education Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Health Informatics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Hematology/Oncology Susan Martin smartin@med.miami.edu
Human Genetics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Hussman Institute for Human Genomics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Industrial Engineering Augusto Roca augusto@miami.edu
International  Medical Affairs Institute Amy Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
International Studies Alexis Fernandez alexis.fernandez@miami.edu
Latin American Studies Joselyn Garcia j.garcia27@miami.edu
Law Carolina Morris cmorris@miami.edu
Marine Geology & Geophysics Karen Neher k.fleites@miami.edu
Mathematics Dania Puerto d.puerto@miami.edu
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Marisol Pernas mpernas@miami.edu
Meteorology & Physical Oceanography Sandrine Apelbaum s.apelbaum@miami.edu
Medicine Erica Williams e.williams1@med.miami.edu
Miami Project to Cure Paralysis Marcela Ward mrojas2@med.miami.edu
Microbiology & Immunology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Neurological Surgery Amy Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Neurology Amie Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Obstetrics & Gynecology Lynnette Goldich l.goldich@med.miami.edu
Ophthalmology Lynnette Goldich l.goldich@med.miami.edu
Orthopedics Amy Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Otolaryngology Radmila Wright rwright1@med.miami.edu
Pathology Grisel Lopez glopez@med.miami.edu
Philosophy Alexander Puente apuente@miami.edu
Physical Therapy Amy Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Physics Judy Mallery jmallery@miami.edu
Physiology & Biophysics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Public Health Sciences Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Psychiatry& Behavioral Sciences Lorena Hernandez lhernand@med.miami.edu
Psychology Josefina Dauval jdauval@miami.edu
Radiation Oncology     Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Radiology Grisel Lopez glopez@med.miami.edu
Stem Cell Institute Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Surgery Evelyn Gotera egotera@med.miami.edu
Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center Desiree Uptgrow duptgrow@miami.edu
Urology Grisel Lopez glopez@med.miami.edu