Prospective international scholars are defined as foreign nationals who are interested in coming to the University of Miami as participants in the J-1 Exchange Visitor Program to engage in nonclinical research, teaching or long-term observation at a University of Miami department under the supervision of a University of Miami professor.

The University of Miami (UM) is the sponsor of the Exchange Visitor Program P-1-00212, which is administered by the Department of International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS). Through the University's J-1 Exchange Visitor Program, academic departments can bring qualified participants to UM departments to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, consultation and long-term observation under the supervision of a UM faculty member. The University is authorized to sponsor exchange visitors in five categories: professor, research scholar, short-term scholar, specialist and student. Students will not be discussed here. The other four categories are those that the University refers to as "international scholars."

If you are a foreign national and interested in participating in the University of Miami's Exchange Visitor Program, please contact the department you wish to join to inquire if the department has any interest in hosting you as an international scholar and how you may apply to become an international scholar. It is up to each individual department to decide whether to invite any person to participate in the Exchange Visitor Program and to inform prospective exchange visitors on the appropriate steps to take in order to become an international scholar.

The following is a list of University of Miami departments and contact information for these departments.
This list includes departments that have hosted international scholars in the past. If you are interested in a department but do not see it on this list, please e-mail International Student and Scholar Services and indicate which department you wish to contact regarding participation in the Exchange Visitor Program. We will forward your inquiry to the appropriate department for a direct response to you.

University of Miami Department Dept. Contact E-Mail Address
Anesthesiology Lorena Hernandez lhernand@med.miami.edu
Architecture Danielle Leblanc d.leblanc@miami.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Biology Frances Smith flsmith@miami.edu
Biomedical Engineering Angie Del-Llano a.delllano@miami.edu
Business Administration Blanca Ripoll bripoll@miami.edu
Cell Biology and Anatomy Jenny Cedeno jxc561@miami.edu
Chemistry Lydia Gonzalez lgonzalez1@miami.edu
Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering Maria Aldana maldana@miami.edu
Computer Science Julieta Garcia j.garcia9@miami.edu
Dermatology & Cutaneous Surgery Grisel Lopez glopez@med.miami.edu
Diabetes Research Institute Sabrina Boulazreg sboulazreg@med.miami.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering Vanessa Faz v.faz@miami.edu
Epidemiology & Public Health Nancy Alvarez nalvarez2@med.miami.edu
Family Medicine & Community Health Janet Alford jalford@med.miami.edu
Foreign Languages & Literatures Elizabeth Dezarov edezarov@miami.edu
Gordon Center for Research in Medical Education Desiree Uptgrow duptgrow@med.miami.edu
Hematology/Oncology Susan Martin smartin@med.miami.edu
Human Genetics Amie Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Hussman Institute for Human Genomics Amie Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Industrial Engineering Samara Alfonso salfonso@miami.edu
International  Medical Affairs Institute Elia Nogues enogues@med.miami.edu
International Studies Alexis Fernandez alexis.fernandez@miami.edu
Latin American Studies Joselyn Garcia j.garcia27@miami.edu
Law Nimia Dinsmore ndinsmore@miami.edu
Marine Geology & Geophysics Karen Neher k.fleites@miami.edu
Mathematics Dania Puerto d.puerto@miami.edu
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Marisol Pernas mpernas@miami.edu
Meteorology & Physical Oceanography Sandrine Apelbaum s.apelbaum@miami.edu
Medicine Erica Williams e.williams1@med.miami.edu
Miami Project to Cure Paralysis Marcela Ward mrojas2@med.miami.edu
Microbiology & Immunology Jenny Cedeno jxc561@miami.edu
Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Neurological Surgery Gloria Lasso glasso@med.miami.edu
Neurology Amie Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Obstetrics & Gynecology Elizabeth Delgado edelgado@med.miami.edu
Ophthalmology Eva Norton enorton@med.miami.edu
Orthopedics Janet Alford jalford@med.miami.edu
Otolaryngology Grisel Lopez glopez@med.miami.edu
Pathology Gloria Lasso glasso@med.miami.edu
Pediatrics Elizabeth Delgado edelgado@med.miami.edu
Philosophy Alexander Puente apuente@miami.edu
Physical Therapy Desiree Uptgrow duptgrow@med.miami.edu
Physics Judy Mallery jmallery@miami.edu
Physiology & Biophysics Jenny Cedeno jxc561@miami.edu
Psychiatry& Behavioral Sciences Lorena Hernandez lhernand@med.miami.edu
Psychology Josefina Dauval jdauval@miami.edu
Radiation Oncology     Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Radiology Grisel Lopez glopez@med.miami.edu
Stem Cell Institute Janet Alford jalford@med.miami.edu
Surgery Evelyn Gotera egotera@med.miami.edu
Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center Desiree Uptgrow duptgrow@miami.edu
Urology Grisel Lopez glopez@med.miami.edu