Prospective international scholars are defined as foreign nationals who are interested in coming to the University of Miami as participants in the J-1 Exchange Visitor Program to engage in nonclinical research, teaching or long-term observation at a University of Miami department under the supervision of a University of Miami professor.

The University of Miami (UM) is the sponsor of the Exchange Visitor Program P-1-00212, which is administered by the Department of International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS). Through the University's J-1 Exchange Visitor Program, academic departments can bring qualified participants to UM departments to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, consultation and long-term observation under the supervision of a UM faculty member. The University is authorized to sponsor exchange visitors in five categories: professor, research scholar, short-term scholar, specialist and student. Students will not be discussed here. The other four categories are those that the University refers to as "international scholars."

If you are a foreign national and interested in participating in the University of Miami's Exchange Visitor Program, please contact the department you wish to join to inquire if the department has any interest in hosting you as an international scholar and how you may apply to become an international scholar. It is up to each individual department to decide whether to invite any person to participate in the Exchange Visitor Program and to inform prospective exchange visitors on the appropriate steps to take in order to become an international scholar.

The following is a list of University of Miami departments and contact information for these departments.
This list includes departments that have hosted international scholars in the past. If you are interested in a department but do not see it on this list, please e-mail International Student and Scholar Services and indicate which department you wish to contact regarding participation in the Exchange Visitor Program. We will forward your inquiry to the appropriate department for a direct response to you.

University of Miami Department Dept. Contact E-Mail Address
Accounting Willie Risby Hannah wrisby@miami.edu
Anesthesiology Andrea Bent axb1240@med.miami.edu
Architecture Chanelle Costa ccosta@miami.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Biology Aliana Valenzuela aliana.valenzuela@miami.edu
Biomedical Engineering Angie Del-Llano a.delllano@miami.edu
Business Administration Vanessa Gonzalez v.gonzalez4@miami.edu
Cell Biology and Anatomy Marcela Ward mrojas2@med.miami.edu
Chemistry Lydia Gonzalez lgonzalez1@miami.edu
Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering Ruth Saravia res202@miami.edu
Computer Science Julieta Garcia j.garcia9@miami.edu
Dermatology & Cutaneous Surgery Jenny Lopez JXC561@med.miami.edu
Diabetes Research Institute Sabrina Boulazreg sboulazreg@miami.edu
Economics Penny Gibson pgibson1@miami.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering Vanessa Faz v.faz@miami.edu
Family Medicine & Community Health Radmila Wright rwright1@med.miami.edu
Finance Michelle Mederos mmederos@miami.edu
Foreign Languages & Literatures Monica Metcalf m.metcalf1@umiami.edu
Gordon Center for Research in Medical Education Toni Stone tstone@miami.edu
Health Informatics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Hematology/Oncology Elia Nogues Elia Nogues
Human Genetics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Hussman Institute for Human Genomics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Industrial Engineering Augusto Roca augusto@miami.edu
International  Medical Affairs Institute Olivia Cata acata@miami.edu
International Studies Robert Wright rwright@miami.edu
Latin American Studies Joselyn Garcia j.garcia27@miami.edu
Law Carolina Morris cmorris@miami.edu
Marine Geology & Geophysics Cheryl Braxton c.braxton@miami.edu
Mathematics Dania Puerto d.puerto@miami.edu
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Marisol Pernas mpernas@miami.edu
Meteorology & Physical Oceanography Sandrine Apelbaum s.apelbaum@miami.edu
Medicine Elia Nogues enogues@med.miami.edu
Miami Project to Cure Paralysis Marcela Ward mrojas2@med.miami.edu
Microbiology & Immunology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Neurological Surgery Amy Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Neurology Amie Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Obstetrics & Gynecology Toni Stone tstone@miami.edu
Ophthalmology Eva Norton enorton@med.miami.edu
Orthopedics Amy Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Otolaryngology Myrna Miqueli mxm1919@med.miami.edu
Pathology Andrea Bent axb1240@med.miami.edu
Philosophy Alexander Puente apuente@miami.edu
Physical Therapy Amy Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Physics Judy Mallery jmallery@miami.edu
Physiology & Biophysics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Public Health Sciences Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Psychiatry& Behavioral Sciences Myrna Miqueli mxm1919@med.miami.edu
Psychology Josefina Dauval jdauval@miami.edu
Radiation Oncology     Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Radiology Amie Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Stem Cell Institute Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Surgery Evelyn Gotera egotera@med.miami.edu
Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center Desiree Uptgrow duptgrow@miami.edu
Urology Myrna Miqueli mxm1919@med.miami.edu