Political communication

Presidential Campaigns and Debates, Campaign Rhetoric
David Steinberg      
Professor of Communication Studies
School of Communication
Office: 305.284.5553  dave@miami.edu

Presidential Debates & Campaign Strategy
Dr. Thomas Steinfatt
Professor of Communication
School of Communication
Office:  305.284.3354
tms@miami.edu

Spanish Media, Hispanic Voters, and US-Cuba Relations
Dr. Jaime Suchlicki (speaks Spanish)
Professor of International Studies
College of Arts & Sciences
Office: 305.284.2822  jsuchlicki@miami.edu

Spanish Media and Hispanic Voters, US Foreign Policy to Latin America
Dr. Susan Purcell (speaks Spanish)
Director, Center for Hemispheric Policy
School of Business
Office:  305.284.9830
susanbkp@aol.com

Internet Blogging and the Elections
Michael Froomkin, J.D. (speaks French)
Professor of Law
School of Law
Office:  305.284.4285
a.froomkin@miami.edu 

Politics

Public Opinion and Political Behavior, Survey Research Methodology, Exit Polls, and Political Surveys
Dr. Casey Klofstad
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office:  305.284.8861
klofstad@gmail.com

Local and State Politics
Dr. Michael Milakovich
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-2401
milov@miami.edu

Campaign Financing and Election Law
Frances Hill, J.D.
Professor & Director, Tax LLM
Member of the Campaign Legal Center
School of Law
Office:  305.284.2642
f.hill@miami.edu

Public Policy
Dr. George Gonzalez
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office:  305.284.1738
ggonzal2@miami.edu

Ethics of Politics, Electoral Process, International Relations
Dr. Kenneth Goodman
Co-Director, UM Ethics Program   Director, UM Bioethics Program
Miller School of Medicine Office: 305.243.5723
kgoodman@miami.edu

Ethics of Politics
Anthony V. Alfieri, J.D.
Professor and Director, Center for Ethics & Public Service
School of Law
Office:  305.284.2735
aalfieri@law.miami.edu

Ethics, Public Policy and Business Law
Anita Cava Director, UM Business Ethics Program    Co-Director, UM Ethics Program   Miller School of Medicine   Office: 305.284.5084    acava@miami.edu
Religion and Politics, African-American and Hispanic Campaign Issues
Dr. Michelle G. Maldonado
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
Office: 284-9782
mmaldonado@miami.edu

Immigration Policy, History of Presidency/Campaigns, Middle Eastern Politics
Dr. David Abraham (speaks German, Hebrew, some French)
Professor of Law
School of Law
Office:  305.284.5535
dabraham@law.miami.edu

Immigration Policy and Hispanic Voters
Dr. Thomas Boswell
Chair and Professor, Geography and Regional Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
Office:  305.284.6694
tboswell@miami.edu

Economic Issues-International and Labor Economics
Dr. Michael Connolly
Chair and Professor, Economics
School of Business
Office:  305.284.4898
mconnolly@miami.edu

Political Parties
Dr. George Gonzalez
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305.284.1738
george.gonzalez@miami.edu

Campaign Strategy and Personal Experience
Michael Calderin
Systems Business Analyst
University of Miami Medical Group
Miller School of Medicine
Office: 305.243.5000
mcalderin@med.miami.edu

Election Process and Strategy, Congressional Politics and Process, Political Parties
John Gregory Koger
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office:  305.284.3716
gkoger@miami.edu

Campaign, Elections, Media & Politics, Primaries (New Hampshire), Debates, Public Opinion, Conventions
Joseph Uscinski
Assistant Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office:305.284.3717
uscinski@miami.edu

US Jewish Vote and US-Middle East Relations
Dr. Ira Sheskin
Professor of Geography and Regional Studies
College of Arts & Sciences
Office:  305.284.6693
isheskin@miami.edu

US Hispanic Voters
Dr. Susan Purcell (speaks Spanish)
Director, Center for Hemispheric Policy
School of Business
Office:  305.284.9830
susanbkp@aol.com

Foreign Politics

US-Cuba Relations, Cuban-Americans in the US
Dr. Jaime Suchlicki (speaks Spanish)
Professor of International Studies
College of Arts Sciences
305.284.2822
jsuchlicki@miami.edu

Latin America
Dr. Bruce Bagley (speaks Spanish)
Professor of International Studies
College of Arts & Sciences
Office:  305.284.6867
bbagley@miami.edu

Dr. Merike Blofield
Assistant Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305.284.6116
m.blofield@miami.edu

Middle East Issues
Dr. Ira Sheskin
Professor of Geography and Regional Studies
Director, Jewish Demography Project
College of Arts & Sciences
Office:  305.284.6693
isheskin@miami.edu

European Union, EU-Cuba Relations, Latin American Integration and Ideologies
Dr. Joaquin Roy (speaks Spanish)
Director, UM European Union Center    Director, European Union Research Institute Office:  305.284.3266
jroy@miami.edu

Asian Politics (China, Japan, Taiwan) and the UN Security Council
Dr. June Teufel Dreyer
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office:  305.284.2403
jdreyer@miami.edu

US Foreign Policy to Latin America
Dr. Susan Purcell (speaks Spanish)
Director, Center for Hemispheric Policy
School of Business
Office:  305.284.9830
susanbkp@aol.com

presidential history

History of the American Presidency
Dr. Greg Bush
Professor of History
College of Arts & Sciences
Office:  305.284.6406
gbush@miami.edu

Environmental issues

Environment & Public Policy – Climate Change & Global Warming
Dr. George Gonzalez
Professor of Political Science, School of Business
Office:  305.284.1738
ggonzal2@miami.edu

Environmental Policy and Climate Change
Dr. Kenny Broad
Professor of Marine Affairs and Policy, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office:  305.421.4851
kbroad@rsmas.miami.edu

Ocean Science & Policy
Dr. Daniel Suman
Professor of Marine Affairs & Policy, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office:  305.361.4685
dsurman@rsmas.miami.edu

Environmental Law & Policy
Mary Doyle, J.D.
Professor of Law & Director of UM Law School’s Center for Ecosystem Science & Policy
Office:  305.284.2986
m.doyle@miami.edu

Hydrogen Energy
Dr. T.Nejat Veziroglu (Speaks Turkish)
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
College of Engineering
Office:  305.284.1601
veziroglu@miami.edu

Climate Change
Dr. Larry Peterson
Associate Professor of Marine Geology
Assistant Dean, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office:  305.361.4692
lpeterson@rsmas.miami.edu

Climate Change
Dr. Amy C. Clement
Assistant Professor of Meteorology and Physical Oceanography
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office:  305.361.4846
aclement@rsmas.miami.edu

national security issues

Terrorism / Security
Dr. Bruce Bagley (speaks Spanish)
Professor of International Studies
College of Arts & Sciences
Office:  305.284.6867
bbagley@miami.edu

Iraq and Middle East Policy
Dr. Haim Shaked
Director of the Middle East Studies Institute
Office:  305.284.6882
hshaked@miami.edu

wartime

Arms Control
Richard L. Williamson Jr., J.D.
Professor of International Law
School of Law
Office:  305.284.4815
r.williamson@miami.edu

Voter participation, voting trends, political campaigns, CENSUS

Professor Christopher Mann
Assistant Professor in Political Science
Jenkins Bldg. 314 L
Office: (305) 284-8052
cmann@miami.edu

Finance

Sandro C. Andrade
Assistant Professor, Finance
Office: (305) 284-8819
sca@miami.edu

health care

(Please contact Omar Montejo at (305) 243-5654 or omontejo@med.miami.edu )

Health reform, Latino health, access to care among minority groups, national health insurance, health policy
Olveen Carrasquillo, MD MPH
Chief, Division of General Medicine
Office: 305.243.2718  
oc6@med.miami.edu

Ethics of Politics, Health Care, Medicine, Computers
Dr. Kenneth Goodman
Director, UM Bioethics Program  Co-Director, UM Ethics Program  
School of Medicine
Office: 305.243.5723
kgoodman@miami.edu

Health Care Issues – High Cost of Health Care, Neuroscience
Dr. Walter Bradley
Professor and Chairman Emeritus, Department of Neurology
School of Medicine
Office:  305.243.7519
w.Bradley@miami.edu

Religion and Bioethics, Migrant Health, HIV/AIDS
Dr. Christie K. Vila
Manager, Pediatric Clinical Research
Miller School of Medicine
Office:  305.243.1422  
cvila@med.miami.edu

Health policy

Education and Health Policy
Dr. Henry Green
Professor of Religious Studies
George Feldenkreis Program in Judaic Studies
Office:  305.284.4375
hgreen@mail.as.miami.edu

Ethics, Healthcare, Public Policy and Business Law
Anita Cava Director, UM Business Ethics Program    Co-Director, UM Ethics Program   Miller School of Medicine    Office: 305.284.5084 acava@miami.edu