Three Noteworthy Professors Honored

Faculty Senate awards highest accolades to René Sacasas, Mary E. Mckay, and Jay S. Skyler.

UM News

CORAL GABLES, Fla. (February 10, 2015) — The Faculty Senate voted at its January meeting to award its highest Faculty Senate accolades to three outstanding faculty members: René Sacasas, Mary E. Mckay, and Jay S. Skyler.

Sacasas, professor and chair of the Business Law Department at the School of Business Administration, will be honored with the James W. McLamore Outstanding Service Award for his selfless contributions to the lives of faculty, students, and staff during his three decades at the University.

Mckay, associate dean for nursing undergraduate programs and assistant professor of clinical at the School of Nursing and Health Studies, will receive the Outstanding Teaching Award for her contributions to the quality of education for students and for inspiring faculty to develop new and innovative teaching strategies.

Skyler, professor of medicine, pediatrics, and psychology at the Miller School of Medicine and deputy director for Clinical Research and Academic Programs at the Diabetes Research Institute, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award for his groundbreaking Type 1 diabetes research, which has led to improving the care received by patients with Type 1 diabetes. Along with receiving the award, he will give a short lecture on his research.

The awardees will be honored at the Faculty Senate Annual Awards ceremony at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, April 15 in Storer Auditorium. The University community is invited to join in celebrating these three extraordinary members of the faculty.

Share it with others
« Back to News Releases
News story figure

René Sacasas, Mary E. Mckay, and Jay S. Skyler

University of Miami Media Contact:

Contact Person:
UM Communications
Person role:

University of Miami’s mission is to educate and nurture students, to create knowledge, and to provide service to our community and beyond. Committed to excellence and proud of our diversity of our University family, we strive to develop future leaders of our nation and the world.