Coach Shannon a Semifinalist for First Annual Paterno Award

Winner based on success on the field and in the classroom and community.

Coral Gables (November 08, 2010) — On Monday morning Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2010 Semifinalists for the first annual Joseph V. Paterno Award for Coach of the Year.

The list includes Miami head coach Randy Shannon and 14 other candidates for the Paterno Award.

The award winner is decided on by the committee. To honor the spirit of Coach Paterno’s persona, the winner is based on success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community.

Coach Shannon has led the 'Canes to a 6-3 record in 2010, thanks in large part to the efforts of All-American candidates Brandon Harris, Leonard Hankerson, Sean Spence and Allen Bailey.

Off the field, the football team recently posted a Graduation Success Rate (GSR) of 81 percent, which is a record for the program. Coach Shannon has the highest career Academic Progress Rate (APR) of any head coach at the BCS level and is third among all FBS head coaches.

The players and staff are very active in the community, giving back on a regular basis. Last week, players devoted a portion of their off day (Monday) to visit the Ronald McDonald House of Miami.

The three finalists for the award will be announced on Monday, December 6th. The formal announcement of the award will be made on Saturday, December 18th, 2010.

Coach Paterno is not eligible for this award.

Semifinalists for the 1st Paterno Award

Beamer, Frank, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Bielema, Bret, University of Wisconsin
Calhoun, Troy, United States Air Force Academy
Ferentz, Kirk University of Iowa
Fitzgerald, Pat, Northwestern University
Harbaugh, Jim, Stanford University
Niumatalolo, Ken, United States Naval Academy
O’Brien, Tom, North Carolina State University
Patterson, Gary, Texas Christian University
Petersen, Chris, Boise State University
Pinkel, Gary, University of Missouri
Shannon, Randy, University of Miami, Florida
Stoops, Bob, University of Oklahoma
Tressel, Jim, Ohio State University
Whittingham, Kyle, University of Utah

The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

Share it with others
« Back to News Releases

Coach Randy Shannon announced a Semifinalists for the first annual Joseph V. Paterno Award for Coach of the Year.

University of Miami Media Contact:

Contact Person:
UM Communications
Person role:

University of Miami’s mission is to educate and nurture students, to create knowledge, and to provide service to our community and beyond. Committed to excellence and proud of our diversity of our University family, we strive to develop future leaders of our nation and the world.