The Faculty Senate is the vehicle by which the Faculty is authorized to share in planning and governance of the university. Through its committees and as a deliberative and legislative body, the Senate plays an important role in dealing with academic policies, new program and degree approvals, compensation and the annual budgets, reviews of chairs and deans, and countless other matters of collegial concern and interest.

It is also the vehicle for hearing faculty grievances regarding rank, salary and conditions of employment, as well as appeals on tenure decisions.   Senate meetings are held monthly during the academic year.  Senators  are elected from each school for three year terms and Senate officers are elected annually.  The elected Senate officers are Tom├ís Salerno, Chair; Linda Neider, First Vice Chair; and JoNel Newman, Second Vice Chair.  Robyn Hardeman is Secretary of the Faculty Senate,   Maria Sanchez is Sr. Administrative Assistant and   Yanin Valdes is the Administrative Assistant.

The John Knoblock Faculty Senate Office
Phone: 305-284-3721
Fax: 305-284-5515
Email address:
Inter-office address: 325 Ashe Administration Building, Locator: 4634
Physical location: 1252 Memorial Drive
325 Ashe Administration Building
Coral Gables, Florida  33146

News and Views, for Faculty by Faculty

All full-time faculty members are eligible to join this listserv for news and discussion of matters of general university importance.  Send subscription requests from your University e-mail address (only!) to

Listserv Etiquette