Welcome Community Scholars in Affordable Housing!

February 03, 2014 —

The University of Miami Office of Civic and Community Engagement, in partnership with the South Florida Community Development Coalition, Leonard Turkel Nonprofit Network, and Catalyst Miami, is very pleased to announce our first cohort of Community Scholars in Affordable Housing.  This innovative new program addresses one of South Florida’s biggest challenges, housing affordability, by developing the next generation of leaders in the community development field. It provides the opportunity for emerging leaders in non-profit, for-profit, and government sectors, to come together in a community of practice with local and national experts to explore best practices in community development and affordable housing policy. Please welcome our 2014 cohort!

(Back row, from left)
Darnell Roberts, Florida New Majority
Stephanye Johnson, Trinity Empowerment Consortium, Inc.
Rickelle Williams, Housing Finance Authority of Miami-Dade
Malik Benjamin, FIU College of Architecture and the Arts
Aleta McDaniel, Greater Miami Fuller Center for Housing
LaTonda James, Neighborhood Housing Services of South Florida
Dan Espino, Weiss, Serota, Helfman, Pastoriza, Cole & Boniske
Jorge Damien de la Paz, Miami Coalition for the Homeless
(Front row, left to right)
Rosa Llaguno, Agency for Persons with Disabilities
Karen Hamilton, South Florida Regional Planning Council
Evian L. White, Legal Services of Greater Miami
Jasmine Baldwin, Opa-locka Community Development Corporation
Not pictured: Bruno Lopes, Miami Association of Realtors





Share it with others
« Back to Civic Engagement News Releases