Excellence in Civic Engagement Faculty Award Recipients Announced

April 12, 2012 —

The Office of Civic and Community Engagement is pleased to announce the two recipients of our new Excellence in Civic Engagement Faculty Award, Dr. Scotney Evans and Dr. Daniel Santisteban. 

The Excellence in Civic Engagement awards are intended to recognize faculty members who work with UM students to engage community-identified needs through academic service-learning courses and community-based research.

Dr. Evans (School of Education) stood out as a result of his ongoing action research projects that engage his students in community issues, helping the students understand the complex challenges facing local human service organizations while leading to the identification of solutions that aid the organizations.

Dr. Santisteban (School of Nursing), meanwhile, has three active NIH grants that support projects engaging undergraduate and graduate students in comprehensive work with adolescents suffering from mental health problems.

The two winners were chosen from a highly competitive, university-wide pool of applicants nominated by their deans and then reviewed by a selection committee comprised of UM faculty, administrators, and CCE staff. Both professors will be recognized with public commendation and a plaque at the university’s Celebration of Involvement on April 26th. Congratulations, Drs. Evans and Santisteban!

Share it with others
« Back to Civic Engagement News Releases