Call for Applications: Engaged Faculty Fellows 2013 - 2014

February 18, 2013 —

The Office of Civic and Community Engagement is pleased to announce the 2013 - 2014 Engaged Faculty Fellows (EFF) Award Program. Our Office will award five summer stipends of $2,500 each to faculty who commit to creating courses that incorporate a significant component of civic engagement and service-learning into the course curriculum. Proposed courses must meet the criteria established for academic service-learning courses at the University of Miami. The course can be an existing one that is refashioned to include a service-learning component or an entirely new course.

EFF is open to full-time University faculty who are engaged in undergraduate teaching. Criteria for selection include: school and departmental support; previous exposure and experience with, and/or interest in learning about, civic engagement and service learning; commitment to faculty development; high level of interest in the program; openness to collegiality and exchange of new ideas; potential contributions to the community; high level of interest in developing, implementing and sustaining innovative techniques to enhance teaching and learning.

Recipients of the awards must commit to teaching the class at least three times over the next five years. Faculty will participate in a series of workshops that introduce them to key concepts and practices in civic engagement and service learning, and also will take part in a follow-up panel discussion about their experiences in developing the syllabi and teaching the courses.

Applications for the 2013 - 2014 cohort are due Friday, March 8, 2013. Please submit your completed form via e-mail attachment to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). Download the full application HERE.

2012 - 2013 Fellows included:
Dr. Joseph De Santis, Assistant Professor, School of Nursing and Health Studies
Dr. Scotney Evans, Assistant Professor, Department of Education and Psychological Studies, School of Education
Dr. Laura Kohn-Wood, Associate Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Education and Psychological Studies, School of Education
Dr. Michelle Maldonado, Associate Professor, Department of Religious Studies, College of Arts and Sciences
Dr. Subha Xavier, Assistant Professor of French, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, College of Arts and Sciences

Share it with others
« Back to Civic Engagement News Releases