The University’s overall health care costs continue to increase annually by double digit percentages, which is not sustainable over time.  As a result, the University embraced the need for robust health and wellness programs to meet the diverse needs of its faculty, staff and dependents.  Many companies establish employee groups to provide ideas on all phases of health and wellness promotion programs, and provide ongoing support to employee benefit functions and wellness program managers.  The University of Miami established the Wellness Advisory Council for that undertaking.  Below is a list of Wellness Advisory Council members:

Morris, Nerissa E.

Vice President

Human Resources

Ambrosia, Todd

Asst. Professor of Clinical

School of Nursing and Health Studies

Burnett, Kent

Assoc. Professor

Education and Psychological Studies

Cabassi, Marilin

Budget Analyst

Sr. Vice Provost - Undergraduate Education

Cohen, Jennifer

Executive Director


Etzel, III, Anthony

Executive Director


Gonzalez, Orlando J.


Faculty/Staff Assistance Program

Keitz, Dr. Sheri

Associate Vice President

Medical Human Resources

Konefal, Janet

Associate Professor

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Parsons, Norman C. Jr.


Coral Gables Wellness Center

Schwartz, Dr. Robert


Family Medicine and Community Health