New Knowledge

Nonverbal Cues

Weak Nonverbal Communication Skills in Babies Can Signal Autism

Approximately 19 percent of children with a sibling diagnosed with Autism…

More New Knowledge »

The University of Miami has four campuses on 392 acres in Miami-Dade County locations stretching from Coral Gables and the city of Miami to South Dade.

Coral Gables

The Coral Gables campus, the University’s main campus, is home to two colleges and seven schools and is located on a 230-acre tract in suburban Coral Gables. These academic units include the School of Architecture, College of Arts and Science, School of Business Administration, School of Communication, School of Education, College of Engineering, School of Law, Phillip and Patricia School of Music, and School of Nursing and Health Studies. The Division of Continuing and International Education is housed on the campus.

The campus is one of South Florida’s prime destinations for a rich variety of arts and culture offerings. The Lowe Art Museum houses South Florida’s largest and most varied art collection and hosts traveling exhibitions. The Jerry Herman Ring Theatre brings vitality to the South Florida cultural community. The acoustically superb Gusman Concert Hall and Clarke Recital Hall are the sites of hundreds of concerts, including Festival Miami, spanning the musical spectrum that are presented by the Frost School of Music. The Cosford Cinema screens a wide variety of first-run, classic, rare, and art-house films. The Coral Gables campus is also home to the University’s celebrated intercollegiate athletics program.

In the past ten years a number of major new facilities have been added to the Coral Gables campus—the BankUnited Center, the Martha and Austin Weeks Music Library and Technology Center, the Fred C. and Helen D. Flipse Building, the David Epstein and Bernie Kosar Faculty Building at the School of Business Administration, the Hecht Athletic Center, the Yaron Field House, Francis L. Wolfson Building at the School of Communication and Cobb Stadium, the Jorge M. Perez Architecture Center, the M. Christine Schwartz Center for Nursing and Health Studies, the School of Communication Student Center, the Sheldon and Myrna Palley Pavillion for Contemporary Glass and Studio Arts at the Lowe Art Museum, and University Village (the first housing project, which includes 800 student beds, in more than 35 years).

Medical Campus

The Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine campus, in the Health District near downtown Miami, consists of 68 acres within the 153-acre University of Miami/Jackson Memorial Medical Center complex. The medical center includes three University-owned hospitals that make up the University of Miami Health System (UHealth): University of Miami Hospital, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, and Anne Bates Leach Eye Hospital, home to the top-ranked Bascom Palmer Eye Institute. Our affiliated hospitals on the medical campus include Jackson Memorial Hospital, Holtz Children’s Hospital, and the Miami VA Medical Center. Miller School of Medicine faculty conduct more than 2,000 research projects in basic science and clinical care. Plans are underway to build the UM Life Science Park with two million square feet of space adjacent to the medical campus. The facility will bring together academia and industry for collaboration in bioscience research and innovation. In 2006 the University opened the new 15-story Clinical Research Building, which accommodates researchers from a wide range of disciplines. The nine-story, Biomedical Research Institute, opening in 2009, will significantly increase the medical school’s basic science space.

Rosenstiel School Campus

The Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science is located on an 18-acre waterfront campus on Virginia Key in Biscayne Bay. The campus is part of a 65-acre marine research and education park that includes two U.S. Department of Commerce National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration research laboratories and the MAST Academy, the Miami-Dade County magnet high school for marine science and technology.

Richmond Facility

The Richmond Facility, established in 2001, is a 76-acre site near South campus. Research facilities for the Rosenstiel School’s Center for Southeastern Tropical Advanced Remote Sensing (CSTARS) and Richmond Satellite Operations Center (RSOC) are located on a portion of the new facility.