UM Frost Alumnus Awarded ASCAP Foundation’s George Duke Commissioning Prize

October 22, 2015 — Coral Gables, Fla — Alan Chan, B.M. ’01, a Los Angeles-based composer and alumnus of the University of Miami Phillip and Patricia Frost School of Music, was selected as the recipient of The ASCAP Foundation’s George Duke Commissioning Prize.

The $10,000 prize, created to honor the legacy of musician George Duke, means that Chan will write a new work for the Symphonic Jazz Orchestra (SJO) ensemble for their upcoming 2016-17 season. Chan’s submission was selected by the SJO’s Music Advisory Board out of a pool of national submissions ranging from leading jazz veterans to young composers.

Chan completed his undergraduate work in Music Theory and Composition at the Frost School. Expanding on his classical background, Chan then began composing for jazz big band-style orchestras under the mentorship of Grammy Award nominee Gary Lindsay in Miami, and later for Shelly Berg (now Dean of the Frost School) and Vince Mendoza in Los Angeles. Berg and Mendoza are Grammy Award nominee and winner, respectively.

Chan’s music has been recognized by the American Composers Forum, New Music USA, and The Ucross Foundation, among others. In 2011, he founded the Alan Chan Jazz Orchestra, which is comprised of top studio and jazz musicians from the Los Angeles area.

Created in 2002, the 67-member Symphonic Jazz Orchestra is dedicated to blending the worlds of jazz and classical music through its commissioning, performing and educational programs. The Symphonic Jazz Orchestra/George Duke Commissioning Prize is made possible in part by a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Louis Armstrong Fund and the Bart Howard Fund. Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs. For more information, visit and

Share it with others
« Back to Frost News Releases
News story figure

Alan Chan, B.M. '01 (Photo Credit: Dana Ross)