The Frost Composition Competiton for High School and College Composers

June 28, 2016 — Coral Gables, FL — The Frost Composition Competition is presented in honor of DENNIS KAM, Professor Emeritus at the University of Miami Frost School of Music,
and Chair of Composition/Theory more than three decades. He retired in May 2013. While at Frost, he founded and conducted The Other Music Ensemble; a contemporary music ensemble with the primary mission of being a resource for young composers. Kam is passionate about the role of music in the community, and has long been dedicated to the development of young composers and musicians.

There are two divisions, as follows:
• Division 1: Open to composers who will be enrolled in high school as of 9/1/16.
• Division 2: Open to composers who will be enrolled as college undergraduates as of 9/1/16. Students enrolled in the Frost School of Music are ineligible.

Compositions may be up to 10 minutes in duration.
Submissions for the competition may be for any combination of one to 16 instruments drawn from the following:
- Flute (doubling alto and piccolo)
- Oboe
- Clarinet (doubling bass)
- Bassoon
- Horn
- Trumpet
- Trombone
- Tuba
- Piano/keyboard
- Percussion (up to 2)
- Violin (up to 2)
- Viola (up to 2)
- Cello ( up to 2)
- Bass (1)

Applicants may submit only one work.
Applicants should submit their score electronically as a pdf file to Charles Norman Mason, Chair of Composition/Theory at: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) with the subject line “Other Composition Submission, Division [1 or 2]: [composer name]”
Recording of the work is optional. Recording must be in mp3 format. MIDI realizations are acceptable.
DEADLINE for receipt is midnight EST, October 1, 2016.

Applicants will be judged on their originality, artistic promise, and score presentation by a panel of award winning composers.
Decisions will be announced by December 1, 2016.

The winning composers will receive a $500 prize and a performance of the work by White Ibis Ensemble at the Frost School of Music on the
University of Miami campus in Coral Gables, Florida, during the 2016-17 academic year. (details about concert date TBA).

The Frost School of Music at the University of Miami is one of the largest and best music schools located in a private university in the U.S., and one
of the most comprehensive in all of higher education. Known for its aesthetic diversity and openness to the wide variety of options existing in the
ever-changing and progressive world of composition, the Composition Program at the Frost School of Music has a long tradition of distinguished
faculty, alumni and students. Faculty members in Composition include Dorothy Hindman, Juraj Kojs, Charles Norman Mason, Lansing McLoskey,
Shawn Crouch and Scott Stinson. Our upcoming distinguished composers-in-residence will be Martin Bresnick for 2016 calendar year and August Read Thomas for 2017. For more information about the composition program, go to:

Share it with others
« Back to Frost News Releases
News story figure