Pi Kappa Lambda, the National Music Honors Society, Announces New Members from Frost School of Music

April 09, 2010 — Nancy Zavec, music librarian at the Marta and Austin Weeks Music Library at the University of Miami, announced that eleven University of Miami Frost School of Music students and two faculty were inducted as new members of the Beta Beta Chapter, Pi Kappa Lambda at a ceremony on Thursday April 8, 2010. Pi Kappa Lambda is the national music honor society in the United States. Election to membership in Pi Kappa Lambda is based on superior attainment in music, combined with the "personal qualifications pertaining to an outstanding exponent of the art." Dean Shelton Berg joined Nancy Zavec to congratulate the new members.

New Pi Kappa Lambda student members are: William Brubaker, Michael Flynn, Ashley Garritson, Beth Gibbs, Erin Keenan, Vivian Ortega, Jorge Padron, Victoria Tullier, Esneider Hernandez Valencia, Lauren Denney Wright and Brian Wuttke.

New Pi Kappa Lambda faculty members are Trudy Kane (flute) and Dale Underwood (saxophone).

Share it with others
« Back to Frost News Releases Archive
News story figure

Music librarian Nancy Zavec congratulates Michael Flynn, one of eleven Frost students to be elected to Pi Kappa Lambda in 2010.