Frost School of Music announces 2015 “The Other Composition Competition” winners

November 10, 2015 — Coral Gables, FL — Charles Mason, chair of composition at the Frost School of Music and professors of composition Lansing McLoskey, Dorothy Hindman, Juraj Kojs, and Scott Stinson are pleased to announce the winners of Frost School of Music’s 2015 “THE OTHER COMPOSITION COMPETITION:”

First Prize winners receive $500 and a performance by The Other Ensemble conducted by Shawn Crouch, at the Frost School of Music Gusman Hall on April 4th 2016, at 8:00pm.

First Prize High School Category:
Max Friedman: Nicht Schleppen! for Flute, Clarinet, and Piano

First Prize College Category:
Jonah Gallagher: Wandering Companionless: Pale for Weariness for String Quartet

Honorable Mentions, which includes a possible performance by The Other Ensemble at the Frost School of Music:

High School Honorable Mentions:
Michael Gaspari: String Quartet I
Matthew Shorten: Wandering Spirit for Clarinet, Horn, Violin, Viola, and Cello
Antonia Rhys Bentel: Ambivalent for String Quartet

College Honorable Mentions:
John Ivers: Community Murmurs for Soprano, Flute, Cello and Piano
Michael Essl: Turning Spindle for Piano Trio
Igor Andrić: Reči for Baritone and Piano
Maxx Bradley: Myrmecological Witness for Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Viola, Percussion, and Piano

“THE OTHER COMPOSITION COMPETITION” is open to high school and college students unaffiliated with the University of Miami. The competition is presented in honor of Dennis Kam, Professor Emeritus at the Frost School, and Chair of Composition/Theory for more than three decades. Kam retired in May 2013. While at Frost, he founded and conducted The Other Music Ensemble; a contemporary music ensemble with the primary mission of being a resource for young composers.

Please click here to find more details on this competition.

Share it with others
« Back to Frost News Releases
News story figure

Jonah Gallagher - First Prize Winner in the College Category