Nationally Respected Music Therapist Joins Frost Faculty

July 23, 2014 — Coral Gables, FL — Frost announces exciting new additions to its esteemed faculty beginning in the 2014-15 academic year, including full-time instructor in the department of music therapy, Kimberly Sena Moore.

Moore, MM, MT-BC is a board certified music therapist who joins the University of Miami’s Frost School of Music in 2014. Ms. Sena Moore’s clinical background includes work with children with a history of complex trauma as well as children, adults, and older adults with medical or neurorehabilitation needs. Her current clinical and research interests center on music therapy and emotion regulation development in neurodevelopmentally at-risk children. Ms. Sena Moore has presented extensively at regional, national, and international conferences, her research has been published in the Journal of Music Therapy, Music Therapy Perspective, and Imagine, and her work has been featured in several media outlets, including Psychology Today, Redbook, and CURE.

Ms. Sena Moore currently serves as Regulatory Affairs Associate for the Certification Board for Music Therapists, where she is involved in state-level advocacy, legislative, and policy issues that impact music therapy practice. Online, she co-hosts the Music Therapy Round Table podcast, and blogs at “Your Musical Self” for Psychology Today and Music Therapy Maven. Prior to pursuing a career in academia, she founded and directed Neurosong Music Therapy Services, Inc., a private practice that provided music therapy and music instruction services in northern Colorado. Ms. Sena Moore has a B.M. in Music Therapy from the University of Iowa, an M.M. in Music Therapy from Colorado State University, and is a Candidate in the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. program at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Share it with others
« Back to Frost News Releases Archive
News story figure

Kimberly Sena Moore, MM, MT-BC and board certified music therapist, joins the University of Miami’s Frost School of Music full-time faculty in the 2014-15 academic year.