Music Between Two Wars—Frost Chamber Orchestra

September 15, 2012 @ 8:00 PM
UM Gusman Concert Hall

Frost Chamber Orchestra

The Frost Chamber Orchestra presents a collection of celebrated chamber music composed by French, Austrian, English and American composers in the Interbellum of 1918-1939. The program features Maurice Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin, an orchestral suite composed in 1918 in honor of friends who died fighting in WW I; Anton Webern’s Symphony Opus. 21 (1928) that is widely considered a masterpiece of the second Viennese School; Benjamin Britten’s buoyant Simple Symphony for String Orchestra, Op. 4 (1934) based on themes composed in childhood; and Aaron Copland’s Quiet City (1941) an atmospheric showcase for trumpet, English horn and strings.

General Admission

Adults: $15
Seniors: $10
UM Students: Free with valid ID, subject to availability on concert night

To order by phone, please call 305-284-2400. Ticket fees apply to all phone and online orders.

Share it with others
« Back to Frost Events Archive
frost event photo