26th Annual Conference of Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the USA

January 20, 2011 @ 8:00 AM
UM Gusman Concert Hall and Clarke Recital Hall

JANUARY 20 - 22, 2011

The Frost School of Music will host the 26th annual conference of the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS) January 20 - 22, 2011.  The conference will feature approximately 150 composers and multimedia artists giving concerts and lectures in the Maurice Gusman Concert Hall and the Victor E. Clarke Recital Hall, with sound sculptures and installations all around the University of Miami Coral Gables campus.  Laurie Anderson is the recipient of the 2011 SEAMUS Achievement Award. Hosted by the Frost School’s Music Engineering program director, Colby Leider, the conference will also hold events around greater Miami.

For more information, visit www/seamus2011.org

Click here for SEAMUS 2011 Conference Schedule


Founded in 1984, The Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS) is a non-profit national organization of composers, performers, and teachers of electro-acoustic music representing every part of the country and virtually every musical style. Electro-Acoustic music is a term used to describe those musics which are dependent on electronic technology for their creation and/or performance. Many members of SEAMUS, like Jon Appleton, the guiding light in the conception of the Synclavier, are recognized world leaders in their fields. All are dedicated to the use of the most advanced technology as the tools of their trade.

SEAMUS seeks to provide a broad forum for those involved or interested in electronic music. Through its journal, newsletter, national meetings, and its national archive at the University of Texas, SEAMUS seeks to increase communication among the diverse constituency of the relatively new music medium.

Share it with others
« Back to Frost Events Archive
frost event photo